Tweeting VS Blogging

When I sat down with a parent to discuss the child's academic progress during a parent-teacher conference last week, she said, I've looked you up and it seems we think alike. I would love to know if you have a blog.  I was flattered that someone took interest in the way I was thinking, but I also felt my stomach tighten up. I still can't get over my fear of blogging.  I am assuming that she's been reading through my Tweets. I have other parents_6069202_orig.png who follow me on Tweeter and am beginning to realize the dynamics of Tweeting I bring for the parents who want to know how I am advocating for their gifted children. I now have about 10 blogs I wrote about a wide range of educational topics but are marked  "private" because I am still very much afraid to let my writing known to the whole world. My stomach feels tight every time I think about blogging. Why? Well, let me first write about how Tweeter makes me feel safe.
  • Write in 140 characters. The probably of grammar fairies getting at me is significantly lower than that of other forms of extended writing
  • Practice Ramond Carver-like sentences
  • Build multiple contents, interests, and professional learning communities all at once
  • Less tension around my racial or ethnic identity and more confidence on my professional identity (Although Asian pop is not an underserved representation in the district, being a teacher is still new to most parents, children, AND colleagues. Don’t mind “sensing it” but it feels  good to leave that experience behind once in a while) images.jpg

On the other hand, writing has been an intimate spiritual activity since I was 6. Maneuvering through different languages and cultures, I found writing as a privatized activity only me and myself would share as a defense mechanism from the outside world. My voice was private beyond what languages could express. I also had my writing censored by my parents and teachers (I know, it was horrible!) as I morphed through the teenage years. Let me list other reasons I find blogging intimidating.

  • It’s no longer private (Unlike essays and assignments I write for school. My writing experiences have been extremely private)
  • Grammar fairies will get me
  • My paragraphs may be incoherent
  • Others will criticize my writing
  • I can’t “sell myself” enough

In order to overcome some of the challenges above, I decided that I would do some research on how to cope with such irrational fear. The goal of blogging for me is to create a space for parents and educators to learn more about gifted education in general and would like to makes sure that I increase traffic as I write more. I will have to work on closing the gap and learn skills that would help me overcome it. Here are some resource I aligned to help myself overcome it.

The Fear of Blogging is Real 

The Blog Editor’s Cheat Sheet  You learn how to make blogging as a central activity and strategically plan and execute it

Bryan Klem’s The Writer’s Dig: read a couple of great articles on the struggles of being a writer

Braid Creative & Consulting

3 thoughts on “Tweeting VS Blogging

  1. brennalche November 30, 2016 / 5:49 pm

    This post really hit home for me. I struggle with a lot of the same things. Blogging is something that I fear. I love the idea reading everyones blogs but am scared to write my own. The links that are posted are awesome.

    Like

  2. brennalche November 30, 2016 / 5:50 pm

    This post really hit home for me. I too have a real fear of blogging and have struggled with it all semester. I really enjoyed reading your post and found the links to be very helpful. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. JSchmid450 December 2, 2016 / 1:44 am

    I can definitely relate to this topic. I LOVE Twitter due to the nature of sending out small streams of consciousness without much in-depth thinking. On the other hand I really don’t enjoy/loathe the idea of blogging due to in-depth nature of it. While it isn’t a fear for me, it is definitely something that I’m not completely behind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

