Future Educator Seeks Ways to Promote Literacy Instruction in a Secondary History Setting

In my last post I talked about the importance of teaching students about everyday literacy.  But now I want to know how to keep this idea of literacy in every subject alive, especially in the secondary setting.  There is a strong push for early literacy instruction within school.  In fact, there is even research that states that the earlier students receive literacy instruction, the more successful they will be later in their school careers.  This instructional push can be clearly seen throughout elementary schools.  Literacy has clearly found its place within nearly every subject being taught in elementary.  But what happens when students move on to middle and high school?  We know that it is crucial that students receive some sort of literacy instruction in all subjects once they reach the upper grades, but exactly how much literacy instruction are students actual receiving in ALL subjects?

I am currently enrolled in a course called Content Area Literacy.  In this course, we have talked about how it is crucial that every subject whether it be math, science, history, art, or music incorporates some type of literacy instruction for the students.  As a future history teacher, I can see how literacy instruction can be implemented within my future classroom.  However, I wonder just how easily and effectively literacy instruction can actually be used within my future classroom?  It takes a lot of work and planning to come with an idea to incorporate literacy in the area of history.  There has been so much emphasis on teaching to objectives within my methods courses that I find it hard to do anything than just lecture to students.  How can I still reach the state objectives and incorporate literacy instruction at the same time?  I understand that there are also objects that deal with students being able to use primary and secondary documents, but how do you make this meaningful for every student?  And what do you do for the students who just do not understand the documents or a student who might not be able to read the documents?

I feel that literacy instruction is a very important part of education that most students are not receiving outside of the ELA classes in high school.  But how will I be able to successfully incorporate it into a history class and still reach the required objectives?  Maybe this concept will be easier than I am currently thinking.  But as a student who is looking at going into the teaching field very soon, I feel that I am beginning to be overwhelmed with everything that needs to be incorporated into my future classroom.  And that leaves literacy instruction on the back burner.  So, I am simply a future educator who is seeking ways to promote literacy instruction is a secondary history classroom that will be meaningful to all students and can be easily and effectively implemented.

 

One thought on “Future Educator Seeks Ways to Promote Literacy Instruction in a Secondary History Setting

  1. karkk1ka November 2, 2016 / 2:42 am

    You are not alone. Nearing the end of school I feel the same struggle of all of the expectations that are about to be put on us and it feels overwhelming. With history especially, my experiences were reading out of a textbook and memorizing my study guide until the hour after my test. I know there are more exciting and creative ways to make lessons engaging so I am interested to keep an eye on this post to see what advice people leave in hopes I can transition it to my content area because I feel there can also be this stagnant idea in physical education as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

