Brain Breaks and Literacy Scores

If you have wiggly students or students that just need a break, using GoNoodle in your classroom will definitely become your life saver!

gonoodle1

GoNoodle is simple to setup.  After creating an account with your email address and logging in, you will choose your class champ.  This will be your class motivator while using GoNoodle.  Each champ advances through levels after the students complete activities. After 10 activities, your champ will transform into another variation of its self.  Then after completing so many levels (it varies on each champ), your champ will “max out” and you will chose another champ.

Here is an example. The green shaded champs are the champs that my class from last year completed.  The white champs are the ones that were not started.

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-7-46-37-pm

The champs are always available so students can see which champs they have “maxed out”. You can also print a certificate to display in your classroom.

 

Now, let’s get into the fun part–the activities!  GoNoodle does a fabulous job of offering a variety of movements.  They have everything from brain break exercises, guided dances, and yoga!  The activities are organized by Categories and Channels.  Find a video that interests you and click play. It’s that simple to use!

This year, GoNoodle has included a new channel called BlazerFresh. These are movement videos that engage subject areas. At the beginning of the year, my class made an anchor chart about reading strategies.  We watched the BlazerFresh video “Don’t Read Like a Robot” and used some of the ideas presented in the video on our chart.  This week, we are discussing syllables.  I plan to use the “Clap it Out” video to allow show students how to clap out words in an energizing and meaningful way.

I use GoNoodle in two ways. First, I use it to give my students a brain break. In this case, I chose the activity that I want my students to do.  Normally I choose something from the stretching category.  I did this faithfully with my students last year and my on task behavior increased tremendously.  My students reading scores boosted because they were given a chance to take a break and then refocus their energy.

For indoor recess, I implement GoNoodle by choosing a student as a helper.  That student chooses the videos for the day. Last year, after students got the hang of how GoNoodle works, I would let them trade off after each video.  Personally, I have not had any students who did not want to participate because all of the activities are fun and upbeat.

Edutopia posted a great article on using brain breaks. Especially for younger children, it is important to take frequent breaks in our classroom routine.  My favorite suggestion this article gives is to sing the alphabet with objects rather than letter names. For example, instead of singing ABCDEFG, you could sing apple, banana, cat, dog, elephant, fish, gorilla.  Additionally, the CDC conducted research on the association between school based physical activity and academics and found that participation in exercise was positively associated with GPA 12 out of the 22 times it was measured.

To make a positive difference in your student’s learning, get them out of their seats and moving.  Your student’s brains will thank you!

gonoodle.jpg

2 thoughts on “Brain Breaks and Literacy Scores

  1. rachaelhyaduck September 28, 2016 / 2:36 am

    I really enjoyed this post! This is the first time that I have heard of a program such as this. I think that promoting movement in the classroom can be very beneficial to student learning and this program can clearly get students involved. I feel that when students get tired of sitting in the same spot or they are tired of listening to a lecture, then they begin to fidget. This leads to the student not paying attention the material and their movements can get other students off track as well. This program seems like a fun and engaging way for students to get up a move and take some time to relax before getting back to the material being presented. Do you think something like this would work in a high school or middle school setting? I feel that incorporating movement into an upper-level classroom would be beneficial as well. But I am just wondering if there is some type of engaging program such as GoNoodle that could be used at these levels or if just taking some time to get the students moving would work?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thomasunc September 29, 2016 / 12:53 am

    I started using this in my class This Week! I thought my kids would turn their noses up at it because a lot of it is rather silly, but my class loves it. Today I was watching them move and really paying attention to the movement patterns. As a former dancer, I was seeing the combinations and structure of the movement. The one we did today, had them crossing the midline a lot. That got me to thinking about levels, planes, and patterns. All of these are math skills. Some of my kids struggle to keep up with the movement because they can’t see the structure. They are also the kids who struggle to keep up in class.

    In the past I have had my kids work on clapping patterns and rhythms throughout the year. In the beginning there were lots that struggled. As the year progressed, everyone always improved. I bet everyone will improve with GoNoodle too. I wonder what part of their brains they are developing?

    By the way, my favorite is Cat Party.

    Like

Leave a Reply

